Jerome Richardson

In 1949 jazz flutist Jerome Richardson recorded flute solos on "Kingfish" and "There Will Never Be Another You" in 1950. Being an African-American studio musician in the forties was impossible without being able to play at least two instruments. Richardson had played a half-a-dozen instruments including the alto and tenor saxophone, piccolo, and the flute. Richardson also composed all of the songs on his albums. Richardson had very few solo albums because most of his time was spent playing for other bands. Some of the bands he played with included Lucky Millinder, The Quincy Jones Band, and The Lionel Hampton's Band. Richardson spent a lot of time playing for the Navy dance band led by Marshall Royal.